Google for Startups Cloud Program Credits Guide (2026)

Back
Team Aquanode

Team Aquanode

Sarthak Vaish

Updated OCTOBER 7, 2026Published OCTOBER 7, 2026

The Google for Startups Cloud Program gives early stage startups Google Cloud credits: $2,000 at the Start tier for pre-funded teams, and $200,000 at the Scale tier for startups with recent equity funding from pre-seed to Series A, rising to up to $350,000 for AI-first startups (all as of October 2026). Scale is built for startups founded within the last 5 years with recent institutional funding, and Start is the entry point if you have a working MVP and no round yet.

This guide covers:

  • The tiers and the credit amounts Google states for each
  • Who qualifies, and who Google says it cannot accept
  • How to apply, step by step
  • What the credits cover, and what Google does not state
  • What to plan for when credits run out

Takeaways:

  • Google publishes two credit tiers for early stage startups, Start ($2,000) and Scale ($200,000, or up to $350,000 for AI-first startups), plus custom support for Series B and later.
  • Scale credits are paid out over two years, and the second year is a 20% credit on what you spend, not a lump sum.
  • Credits apply to Google Cloud services and select Google Cloud offerings. They do not apply to third-party services, and third-party models are billed directly.

What Is the Google for Startups Cloud Program?

Google's FAQ describes it this way: "The Google for Startups Cloud Program provides resources to startups in all stages of development. These resources include financial, business, technical, and community support."

It is not an accelerator with a cohort or a demo day, and the program pages we reviewed mention no application fee and no equity taken by Google. Google also says "Acceptance into this program is at the discretion of Google Cloud," so meeting the criteria does not guarantee approval. When you apply, Google matches you to a tier: "Startups will be matched with the tier and benefits that best suit their stage."

Google for Startups Cloud Program Credit Tiers

Here is what Google's own tier pages state as of October 2026.

TierCreditsHow longWho it targets
Start$2,000 in Google Cloud credits"Credits are valid for 12 months"Pre-funded startups with a working MVP, founded within the last 24 months
ScaleUp to $200,000 in Google Cloud creditsOver 2 yearsStartups with recent equity funding, pre-seed to Series A, founded within the last 5 years
Scale, AI-firstUp to $350,000 in total creditsOver 2 yearsAI-first startups that qualify for Scale
Series B+No fixed figure publishedCustomLater stage startups, handled through Google Cloud sales

Start tier (pre-funded)

Google describes Start as "equipping pre-funded startups with $2,000 in Cloud credits, exclusive resources, and support to help you ideate, build your MVP, and gain traction." Other listed benefits: free tier AI Studio access, 12 months of free Google Workspace Business Plus, and $200 in Google Skills credits.

Scale tier (pre-seed to Series A)

Scale is the big one. Google lists "Up to $200,000 in Google Cloud credits over 2 years" and "$150,000 in additional credits for AI-first qualified startups." Other listed benefits are $12,000 in Enhanced Support credits for one year, 12 months of free Google Workspace Business Plus, a $600 monthly credit for any Google Maps service for one year (this needs a separate application), $500 in Google Skills credits, and a dedicated business support and success manager.

The year-by-year split is in Google's footnote, and it is worth reading before you plan a budget:

  • AI startups: "Year 1: 100% up to $250,000 USD in Google Cloud credits; Year 2: 20% credit on your Google Cloud spend in year 2 (up to an additional $100,000 in credits)."
  • Other startups: "Year 1: 100% up to $100,000 USD in Google Cloud credits; Year 2: 20% credit on your Google Cloud spend in year 2 (up to an additional $100,000 in credits)."

So year 2 is earned by spending: a small bill in year 2 means a small credit.

Series B and later

Google does not publish a fixed credit figure for Series B and later. Its page lists "Cloud credits based on monthly spend," partner services funds, flex and enterprise agreements, dedicated customer engineers and learning credits, and the call to action is "Contact sales."

Google for Startups Cloud Program Eligibility

Google splits the criteria by tier.

Scale tier. Startups must:

  • "Have received recent startup equity funding from pre-seed to Series A by an institutional investor or common Web3 funding sources"
  • "Have been founded within the last 5 years"
  • "Have not received more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits"
  • "Provide verification of funding if they are operating in stealth mode"

Google defines recent funding precisely: "Pre-Seed/Seed rounds within the last five years, and Series A rounds within the last 12 months." SAFE agreements are eligible, and verifiable token raises and blockchain foundation grants are accepted for Web3 teams. Funding through "private equity, government innovation grants, prize funding, crowdfunding, angel, and friends and family funding will not qualify a startup for scale but will be evaluated for other program tiers."

Start tier. Startups must be "digital-native technology startups with a working MVP, a clear business model, and plans to seek venture funding soon," must "have been founded within the last 24 months," and must "have not received Google Cloud credits beyond free trial."

AI-first. The extra AI credits need more than an AI feature. Google's FAQ says "Inclusion in our AI program requires being an AI-first startup (having AI built into your startup's foundational structure and strategy and not only as a productivity/bolt-on layer)."

Who Google says it cannot accept

"We are unable to accept companies that have IPO'd or been acquired, educational institutions, government entities, nonprofits, personal blogs or content, dev shops, consultancies, or agencies, cryptocurrency mining companies, or a company distributing tokens contrary to regulatory guidance in your jurisdiction." The Start tier page also excludes service agencies, consultancies and traditional small businesses from its "digital-native" definition.

How to Apply to the Google for Startups Cloud Program

  1. Create a Google Cloud billing account. Google's FAQ says to "have your 18-character Google Cloud billing account ID." You get this ID when you sign up for Google Cloud, and you can find it in the console under Billing, then "Manage your billing account."
  2. Match your email to your website. The FAQ says to "ensure the business email in your application matches your startup's public website domain." It adds that for approval, your website domain must match your email domain and the email domain tied to your billing account.
  3. Gather funding proof. Google asks for "links to publicly available, online sources detailing the equity investments made in your company." If you are in stealth mode, Google says to "work with your investor to verify your funding."
  4. Submit the application from the official program page. The Apply buttons on both the Start and Scale tier pages lead to the same application page, and Google matches you to a tier.
  5. Wait for a decision. Google says "In most cases, you can expect to be informed within a few business days after your submission. Applications requiring further manual review may experience extended processing times of 10 days or more."
  6. If you are rejected, Google's FAQ says to email your Account Manager or cloudstartupsupport@google.com.

Credits go to the billing account you apply with, so use the one that will carry your real workloads.

What the Credits Cover (and What Google Does Not State)

Google's FAQ says the credits "can be used for Google Cloud services such as BigQuery and Gemini Enterprise. The credits cannot be applied to any third-party services or offerings," including anything you buy through Google's partner software listings. Tier pages add that "Credits can be applied toward Google Cloud services and select Google Cloud offerings" and that "Program credits cover Google's state-of-the-art models like Gemini and Gemma. Note: Third-party models are billed directly and are not covered by the program credits."

Two things to check before you plan around them:

  • GPUs and TPUs. Google's startup pages describe its TPUs and GPUs as part of its AI infrastructure, but the pages we reviewed do not say in so many words that program credits pay for GPU or TPU instances. Treat GPU and TPU coverage as unconfirmed until your welcome email or your account manager says so in writing.
  • The $150,000 AI add-on. Google's footnote says qualifying venture-backed startups "can tap into an additional $150,000 USD with the AI startup program to support product development using the Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform." Read literally, that add-on is tied to that platform. Ask what it can be spent on before you count it toward general compute.

What to Plan For When Credits Run Out

Start credits last 12 months. Scale credits run over two years, with the second year capped at 20% of your spend. Either way, the bill arrives at full price after the credits are gone, so build your cost model on the post-credit rate, not the credit-funded one.

If part of your workload is GPU-heavy training or inference, price its post-credit cost separately. Aquanode rents GPUs by the hour (see pricing), has per-GPU pages such as H100, and offers a GPU recommender to size a job before you rent anything.

If you also qualify for other programs, read our guides on AWS Activate and Microsoft for Startups, the NVIDIA Inception guide, and the overview of all startup credit programs.

FAQ

How much Google Cloud credit can a startup get?

As of October 2026, Google states $2,000 for the Start tier and $200,000 for the Scale tier, or up to $350,000 for AI-first Scale startups. Series B and later startups get custom terms with no fixed figure.

Do I need funding to apply?

Not for Start, which targets pre-funded startups with a working MVP and "plans to seek venture funding soon." Scale needs recent equity funding from an institutional investor or common Web3 funding sources. Angel, crowdfunding and friends and family money does not qualify you for Scale, but Google says it may be evaluated for the Start tier.

How long do the credits last?

Start credits are valid for 12 months. Scale credits run "over 2 years," with a 100% credit in year 1 and a 20% credit on spend in year 2, per Google's footnote.

Can credits pay for GPUs or TPUs?

Google does not state this on its program pages. The credits cover "Google Cloud services and select Google Cloud offerings," and the pages name BigQuery, Gemini Enterprise, and Google's own Gemini and Gemma models. Ask your Google contact whether your credits cover the accelerator instances you plan to use.

Can I stack this with AWS Activate or Microsoft for Startups?

Google's pages do not address other companies' programs, so there is no official stacking rule to cite. The one related rule is on Google's side: Scale requires that you "have not received more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits" before, and Start requires no credits beyond the free trial. Each other program has its own rules, so check them separately.

Sources

#startup credits#cloud credits#startups#google for startups#google cloud credits#gemini

Submit the job. Everything after that is ours.

Sign up in 60 seconds. Pay for the GPU minutes you actually use.

© 2026 Aquanode. All rights reserved.

All trademarks, logos and brand names are the property of their respective owners.